The livestream will start at 4:30 PM Eastern, 9:30 PM GMT.

We know you don't want to miss Tesla's long-awaited Battery Day event, so here's how to watch it. Unlike other livestream events, Tesla usually doesn't allow others to embed their presentations, so it won't be available to view on multiple sites.

If you want to watch, (and we know you do) you can do so right here on InsideEVs with our editors and fellow EV enthusiasts. We'll be live-streaming the event along with a live chat and commentary to discuss the news being announced. The pre-show on our YouTube channel will start 30 minutes before the main livestream event, so be sure to tune in early. You can also follow the link to the 2020 Annual Meeting of Stockholders and Battery Day on Tesla's website.

The event starts at 1:30 pm Pacific time, on Tuesday, September 22nd. That's 4:30 PM Eastern, or 8:30 PM GMT. But beware that before Battery Day begins, Tesla will host its annual shareholders' meeting, so the actual start of the Battery Day event may be an hour or two later.

Tesla's Battery Day was initially supposed to happen in April, but the COVID-19 crisis forced Tesla to push it back. Initially, Tesla's CEO Elon Musk said that they may only have to push it back to sometime in May, but since the crisis continued to be a major concern, it was pushed back to the September 22nd date. 

What to expect from Battery Day

Tesla is really good at keeping the details of these events secret, and Battery Day is no exception. However, that hasn't stopped everyone from speculating on what we'll see.

As per a tweet by Elon, we expect we'll get a tour of Tesla's new cell production systems. We should also learn more about Project Roadrunner, Tesla's once-secret program to design and produce its own battery cells in-house. Roadrunner's rumored goals are to reduce cost, speed up production, and improve battery performance. 

 

We also expect to hear about Tesla's "million-mile battery" as well as the company's efforts to remove entirely the amount of cobalt used in its batteries. Then there's the "biscuit cell" picture that was posted on Twitter. The photo looks like it could be a new large, tabless battery cell that Tesla could use in future models, perhaps without needing to package them in modules, saving weight and cost. 

Most also believe we'll get more than just battery news. That could mean the formal introduction of the Model S Plaid, or maybe even new interior design for the Model S & X, both of which are getting a little outdated. Maybe even some Roadster or Cybertruck love. In any event, Musk rarely disappoints. Musk did take to Twitter the other day to let it be known that what is revealed at Battery Day will be for future products and not anything currently in production:

 

Make sure to tune in right and watch the event starting at 4:30 p.m. EST / 9:30 p.m. GMT. What are you expecting or hoping to see? Let us know in the comment section below.