Volkswagen is set to reveal its first-ever all-electric race car and the German automaker has announced it will livestream the official premiere today.

***UPDATE - Livestream is now over, but you can watch it above.

The livestream is scheduled for this Sunday, April 22, at 3:00 PM UTC / 5:00 PM CEST / 11:00 AM EST time.

Related – Volkswagen Reveals New I.D. R Electric Pikes Peak Racer

Just a day after its debut, the I.D. R will go on its official test program.

For this year’s Race to the Clouds, Volkswagen has a very ambitious goal – to set a new record for electric cars in the race. The Pikes Peak challenge starts at 9,390 feet (2,862 meters) and finishes at 14,114 feet (4,302 meters) above sea level.

Volkswagen Member of the Board of Management, Frank Welsch, stated:

“We want to be at the forefront of electro-mobility with Volkswagen and the I.D. family. Competing in the most famous hillclimb in the world with the I.D. R Pikes Peak is a valuable test for the general development of electric cars.”

Here's VW's brief on the car and further below is the embedded livestream, which will begin in at 11 AM EST:

Charged to the Peak – world premiere of the Volkswagen I.D. R Pikes Peak

It is the start of a new era in motorsport for Volkswagen – and one thing is already certain: This Volkswagen is set to electrify its public. The I.D. R Pikes Peak is Volkswagen’s first fully-electric racing car. Lightweight construction and aerodynamic perfection contribute to an exciting design, which houses a powerful electric power unit.