Nissan has debuted the all-new LEAF at a special event in Japan...and as with all major plug-in vehicle launches, you can watch it live right here!  (...but you might want to skip ahead to the 16:30 mark of the archived video)

2018 Nissan Leak spied at Oppama Plant

2018 Nissan Leak spied at Oppama Plant

The 2018 Nissan LEAF is expected to be offered with a base 40 kWh battery, from about $30,000 (in USD).This entry level should net at least 150 miles/240 km of real world (EPA) range.

Update:  Full details on the 2018 Nissan LEAF (specs, range, pricing, photo gallerys, video, etc) can be found in out follow-up reports here, here, here, and here)

In addition, a larger battery option is also expected to follow (~60 kWh), pushing the new LEAF's total range well past 200 miles, making it a more direct competitor to the Chevrolet Bolt EV (Opel Ampera-e) and new Tesla Model 3.

The 2018 LEAF is said to be arriving very regionally in late December in the US, with Americans in 50 states (and Europeons) seeing the model's arrival in early 2018

The event takes place in Tokyo, Japan at 9:30 AM (GMT +9) on September 6th - which means the following dates/times for other locations:

  • Eastern Time USA - September 5th - 8:30 PM
  • Pacific Time USA - September 5th - 5:30 PM
  • Europe (UK) - September 6th - 1:30 AM
  • Europe (Germany) - September 6th - 2:30 AM
So, mark the date and time on the calendar and we will see you back here to watch the LEAF's debut live from Japan!

Gallery (below):  Some of Nissan official teasers for the 2018 LEAF, and some spyshots of our own