Chevrolet Bolt EV
Oregon has become a lot more EV friendly, as the Oregon House approved a $5.3 billion, 10-year transportation funding package (HB 2017), that includes plug-in vehicle incentives.
The major point are point-of-purchase rebates (full Bill details below):
- up to $1,500 for plug-in cars with battery pack up to 10 kWh
- up to $2,500 for plug-in cars with battery pack over 10 kWh
- $50,000 vehicle price cap
Oregon is one of only two states one can pick up a Fiat 500e (so expect to see a lot more of the compliance-mobile inthe state soon)...we will let you guess the other state
If the driver qualifies as a low-to-moderate income earner, and will also scrap an older car at the same time (20+ years old), another $2,500 is added to the incentive from the "Charge Ahead" fund (for a total of up to $5,000). This rebates will be available also for used cars.
Separately, NEVs - neighborhood electric vehicles - and electric motorcycles will also get rebates - up to $750 from 2019. The state also set fees for electric vehicles (at around $110 annually), but those will enter info force in 2020.
The program goes into effect on January 1st, 2018, but consumers have up to 6 months to apply...so there should not be any "crater" in EV sales between now and then.
Update (via Gary Exner/July 13th): Looking at the Bill a little closer, it appears that it will apply to vehicles "purchased or leased on or after the effective date of this 2017 Act" (or 91 days after July 7th)...so October 6th appears to be magic date to get the rebate.
Bill details of interest:
ZERO-EMISSION AND ELECTRIC VEHICLE REBATES
(Rebate Program; Provisions Operative January 1, 2018) SECTION 149.
(3) The purchaser or lessee of a qualifying vehicle may apply for a rebate for a portion of the purchase price or may choose to assign the rebate to a vehicle dealer or lessor.
(6) Rebates for qualifying vehicles shall be set annually by the department as follows: (a) For light-duty zero-emission vehicles and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles with an electrochemical energy storage capacity of 10 kilowatt hours or more, up to $2,500 but not less than $1,500. (b) For light-duty zero-emission vehicles or plug-in hybrid electric vehicles with an electrochemical energy storage capacity of less than 10 kilowatt hours, up to $1,500 but not less than $750.
(7) To be eligible for a rebate, a person requesting a rebate under the program shall:
(a) Purchase or lease a qualifying vehicle. A lease must have a minimum term of 24 months.
(b) Provide proof of an intent to use the qualifying vehicle primarily on the public highways of this state, which may be satisfied by providing proof of registration of the qualifying vehicle in Oregon.
(c) Submit an application for a rebate to the administrator of the program within six months after the date of purchase of the qualifying vehicle or six months after the date the lease of the qualifying vehicle begins
Hat tip to Gary Exner/Oregon Electric Vehicle Association!