eO PP100

eO PP100

Latvian team eO, last year's Pikes Peak International Hill Climb winner, returns to Colorado with an upgraded PP100 electric race car.

With an additional YASA electric motor - now seven in total - 3 in the front and 4 in the rear (who doesn't need 7 motors after all?) that combine to put out a total of 1,190 kW of peak power and also  2,520 Nm of peak torque, make the eO PP100 the favorite again this year, especially after setting the pace by a large margin in qualifiers.

Note:  Several qualifying videos, interviews and mini-docs can be found below

The racing advantage for eO is gained via the PP100's weight of just 1,218 kg, which gives the team a staggering 1.3 HP/kg ratio.

The weight of the PP100's closest plug-in rivals stand at some 1,486 kg (recent entry Acura EV Concept based on the NSX) and the 1,553 kg (2016 Tajima Rimac E-Runner Concept_One).

It has been decided that Rhys Millen will drive for the eO for the second time after being the winning driver in 2015, especially after a great practice/qualifying session, which has already show the fruits of recent improvements.

50 kWh will be available to climb to the top

Best 2016 EV Qualification Times - Top Section

Best 2016 EV Qualification Times - Top Section

eO PP100 Specification

  • All wheel drive
  • Seven YASA-400 electric motors with eO controllers
  • Peak power 1190 kW / peak torque 2520 Nm
  • 700 V / 50 kWh lithium-ion battery pack with BMS
  • Single reduction gear / limited slip axle differentials
  • Steel tubular spaceframe with carbon fibre body
  • Electrically assisted power steering
  • 4-way adjustable shock absorbers
  • Alcon 6-piston brake calipers and ventilated brake discs Ø380 mm front / Ø380 mm rear
  • Hankook 320/710 R18 slick tyres
  • HRE 13” × 18” wheels
  • Kerb weight 1200 kg
  • Top speed 260 km/h

Got a tip for us? Email: tips@insideevs.com