Formula E Moscow

Formula E Moscow

The Formula E will not be back to Moscow in season two, despite the race already being scheduled shortly - on June 4.

Electric racers will get some rest due "road closures".

That means season will consist of 10 instead of 11 rounds.   The cancellation means there are now just three more races to go this season - one in Berlin and two in London.

Is the race really being shuttered this late in the game strictly due to logistics?  It seems hard to believe, but that is the reasoning the Formula E boss is going with:

"Together with the local authorities, Formula E has taken the decision not to race in the Russian capital due to recent and unforeseen circumstances related to road closures."

Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag said:

“While it is unfortunate news not to race in Moscow on June 4, we looked at a number of alternative options as a replacement but were not able to find a viable solution on that specific date. We explored all possibilities including returning to Monaco, but regrettably couldn’t organise the change of venue on such short notice. I’d like to express my thanks to HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco, Mr. Michel Boeri, and the Automobile Club de Monaco who did their utmost to see Formula E return to the streets of the Principality for season two. We will now focus on the three remaining races in Berlin and the double-header in London, which I’m sure will deliver a thrilling conclusion in the battle for the championship.”

2015/16 FIA Formula E Championship - Calendar

Rd 1 - Beijing ePrix - October 24

Rd 2 - Putrajaya ePrix - November 7

Rd 3 - Punta del Este ePrix - December 19

Rd 4 - Buenos Aires ePrix - February 6

Rd 5 - Mexico City ePrix - March 12

Rd 6 - Long Beach ePrix - April 2

Rd 7 - Paris ePrix - April 23

Rd 8 - Berlin ePrix - May 21

Rd 9 - London ePrix - July 2

Rd 10 - London ePrix - July 3"

Got a tip for us? Email: