The second season (2015/2016) of the FIA Formula E championship came to an end last week with two races in Visa London ePrix.

The event was visited by 42,000 fans during the weekend.

After an exciting final race, the title went to Sébastien Buemi and his team Renault e.Dams, which was strongly supported by Nicolas Prost who won the last two races (third in the championship).

Bonus video (below): Highlights from both race 1 & 2 from London

Because the second pretender to the title - Lucas Di Grassi - rear ended Sébastien Buemi (video above) at the beginning of the race (both were able to switch to second car), the title was ultimately decided by additional points from achieving fastest lap by Sébastien Buemi...which seems a little unsatisfying to us to say the least:

"Sebastien Buemi is the new FIA Formula E champion after clinching the title courtesy of setting the Visa Fastest Lap during the season-ending Visa London ePrix.

The final race of the 2015/16 season was a controversial affair, brought about by title rivals Buemi and Lucas di Grassi colliding on the opening lap of the race. Buemi made a slow start from pole, and was rear-ended by di Grassi under braking for Turn 3.

The incident took the rear wing off Buemi’s Renault e.dams entry, while there was significant front end damage to the Abt Schaeffler car of di Grassi. Both drivers limped back to the pits so that they could switch to their second car.

With two points on offer for the Visa Fastest Lap and both drivers tied on points, the championship now boiled down to a fight over who could be quickest over a flying lap. Both drivers - and Stephane Sarrazin - were awarded FanBoost, but the rules state that this power boost cannot be used to claim the bonus points.

Waiting for a clear piece of track to emerge, the protagonists bided their time in the pits, waiting for the perfect time to get a clear lap. Di Grassi struck first, but Buemi’s response was emphatic. Di Grassi gave everything in his response, but fell short, leaving the Swiss racer to succeed Nelson Piquet Jr as Formula E champion."

Formula E

Formula E

Formula E

Formula E

Sébastien Buemi said:

“The most important thing is that we won both championships. I’m actually sad you know, to win it in that way, but also to see what Lucas did because I was very respectful of his driving, he’s been amazing. Like he’s said many times, his car is very bad and he is a very good driver, and if he was in my car he’d be at least half a second quicker!

“He’s a great driver, he did 24 hours in Le Mans, he never touched a car. He went between Nico and the wall, and I could tell you there was maybe five centimetres and once he braked, I just saw on the camera, he has two options - either go to the right or nail the back of my car and he nailed it perfectly. But a little bit too strong because we both went out.

“I’m a bit sad to see this because I think that was his only opportunity. In the end we had the quickest car, we were the best team. If we could’ve come out of this corner in front of him, we would’ve been far quicker.”

Lucas di Grassi, said:

“Congratulations to Sebastien. He’s a strong racing driver and no doubt a deserving Formula E champion. Still, we’re leaving London with our heads held high. We were able to battle for the championship up to the last race - every one of our mechanics, our engineers, our fans and our partners should be proud of this, because so am I.

Obviously, we’re disappointed today. But we’ll start thinking about the next season tomorrow or day after tomorrow. We’re going to come back stronger than ever before.”

Formula E Nicolas Prost

Formula E Nicolas Prost

Alain Prost, Senior Team Manager at Renault e.dams, said:

“It was fantastic, we have improved the car a little bit and made it a little bit better for Nico’s style in the last few races.

Sebastien was stunning today, we wanted to be on Super Pole for the three points and we got it. We wanted to be champions, we could not expect much more because in these types of races, especially on a track like this, like here in London - it’s tricky, with the weather.

You can have a really different situation. It was the target and goal to be champion at the beginning of the year and we did it. It’s not very often that you have a target and you achieve your objective.”

Final results:

Driver standings

Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.dams - 155

Lucas di Grassi, Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport - 153

Nico Prost, Renault e.dams - 115

Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing - 88

Jerome D’Ambrosio, Dragon Racing - 83

Stephane Sarrazin, Venturi - 70

Team standings

Renault e.dams - 270

Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport - 221

DS Virgin Racing - 144

Dragon Racing - 143

Mahindra Racing - 105

Venturi - 77

Andretti Formula E - 49

Team Aguri - 32


Race 1

Race 2

Got a tip for us? Email: