2014 Formula E drivetrain and battery pack

2014 Formula E drivetrain and battery pack

The 10 teams confirmed for season two of the Formula E Championship made final decisions on drivetrains and were approved by the FIA.

There will be eight manufacturers, out of which one - Venturi - will supply two teams, and one team - Aguri, will use the same drivetrain as in the season one car.

This brings us to the point where there will be 9 different setups motor/gearbox/inverters/cooling.

"From the 2015/2016 season, which begins in Beijing on October 17, the series will become an open championship allowing manufacturers to pursue their own in-house innovations, beginning with the development of bespoke powertrains.

In order to limit costs and promote investment and innovation in the most important areas, the manufacturers’ scope is initially limited to the powertrain – specifically the e-motor, the inverter, the gearbox and the cooling system. All other parts on the cars will remain as they are, with the aim being to prevent costly aerodynamic developments.

Of the 10 teams, eight will utilise their own powertrains whilst Dragon Racing will partner with Venturi to run the French manufacturer’s powertrain and the re-named Team Aguri will remain with season one’s SRT01-e package."

2015/ 2016 FIA Formula E Championship - Official Entry List:



ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport (DEU)

ABT Schaeffler FE01

Andretti Formula E Team (USA)

Andretti ATEC-01

Dragon Racing (USA)

Venturi VM200-FE-01

DS Virgin Racing Formula E Team (GBR)


Mahindra Racing Formula E Team (IND)

Mahindra M2ELECTRO

NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team (CHN)

NEXTEV TCR FormulaE 001

Renault e.Dams (FRA)


Team Aguri (JPN)


Trulli Formula E Team (CHE)

Motomatica JT-01

Venturi Formula E Team (MCO)

Venturi VM200-FE-01

Got a tip for us? Email: tips@insideevs.com