Formula E racer

Formula E racer

The FIA WMSC announced the calendar for the second season of the FIA Formula E Championship, which will begin in October.

Again there will be 11 races in 10 cities, across at least 9 countries on three continents.

In Europe, Paris jumped in place of Monaco, because there was already another planned event (Grand Prix de Monaco Historique), while in the US there is no Miami (the location for the fifth round is still under consideration. The rest of the rounds remain the same for now.

Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E said:

“We are pleased to confirm that the second season will again feature 11 ePrix. It’s an important sign of stability and it consolidates the presence of the Championship in the panoply of major global motorsport events run under the aegis of the FIA.”

“Over the past few months, we have received many indications of interest from numerous cities from all over the world, which is another confirmation of the extraordinary reception that Formula E has received all over the world during its first season. We have chosen to keep the number of races the same, with the aim of planting even more solid roots in the cities which trusted in us right from the start. We have added one of the world’s most important capitals and an amazing city, Paris, which will be one of the highlights of the season. As for the location of the fifth round, the one on 19th March, we are working to maintain the same geographic allocation of races: the aim is to have a fourth ePrix on the American continent. The first season only ended a short time ago in the fantastic setting of Battersea Park in London and already we cannot wait to get the new season underway with FIA, the teams and our partners.”

First pre-season tests will takes place next month at Donington Park, UK. There will be three sessions (10th and 11th, 17th and 18th, 24th and 25th).

"It will be the first opportunity to see cars go head to head from the 10 teams that have entered the second edition of the championship, which is now also open to technological competition between various powertrain constructors."

2015/16 FIA Formula E Championship – Calendar

 Round  Date  Country  ePrix
1 October 17 2015 China Beijing
2 November 7 2015 Malaysia Putrajaya
3 December 19 2015 Uruguay** Punta del Este**
4 February 6 2016 Argentina** Buenos Aires**
5 March 19 2016 TBD TBD
6 April 2 2016 USA Long Beach
7 April 23 2016 France Paris
8 May 21 2016 Germany Berlin
9 June 4 2016 Russia Moscow
10 Date TBD United Kingdom London
11 Date TBD United Kingdom London

* All events remain subject to FIA track homologation

** TBC

Got a tip for us? Email: