Formula E

Formula E

Right after the first season of FIA Formula E Championship came to an end, FIA began collecting teams for season two.

There will still be only 10 teams (two drivers each), as there are just 40 cars available (2 per driver).

In the second year, teams got permission to use their own motors, gearboxes and inverters, but the cars and batteries will remain the same.

Different battery packs will be used from third season on.

There is not much time to develop the drivetrain and be ready after the summer break.

FIA announced a few weeks ago 10 teams which have been validated to enter the registration process for the second season and has now confirmed all of them. It seems that besides some changes in names and partnerships, we will see the same 10 teams as in the first season:

"As previously announced, Virgin Racing will now become DS Virgin Racing following its partnership with DS Automobiles, whilst Audi Sport ABT will be known as ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport after their tie-up with the leading technology manufacturer."

"Inaugural teams’ champion e.dams-Renault will henceforth be known as Renault e.Dams in deference to the French marque’s status as an official manufacturer in the all-electric series."

The 10 Formula E teams are:

ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport

Andretti Formula E Team

Dragon Racing

DS Virgin Racing Formula E Team

Mahindra Racing Formula E Team

NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team

Renault e.Dams

Team Aguri

Trulli Formula E Team

Venturi Formula E Team

Got a tip for us? Email: