The title for the first female Formula E driver goes to 33-year-old Katherine Legge, a former Champ Car racer who signed with the Amlin Aguri Formula E team.

Formula E Race Car Close-up.

Formula E Race Car Close-up.

There is a total of 11 drivers for the all electric Formula E Championship.

The other currently confirmed drivers are:

  • Daniel Abt, Lucas di Grassi - Audi Sport Abt.
  • Sam Bird, Jaime Alguersuari - Virgin Racing.
  • Bruno Senna, Karun Chandhok, Mahindra Racing.
  • Nick Heidfield, Stéphane Sarrazin - Venturi.
  • Franck Montagny - Andretti Autosport.
  • Jarno Trulli - TrulliGP.
Legge has several achievements in the racing industry since 2005.

Eager to drive in Formula E, Legge stated:

“For me this is a really exciting opportunity. The car is fantastic, it looks amazing and it will be very quick. Racing through the streets of the world’s leading cities will be an incredible experience and I think it’s a great chance to bring racing to the people. We will be driving in their cities on their streets.”

Mark Preston, team principal, added:

“Amlin’s corporate expertise and our racing experience makes for a potent combination. Formula E will be a very exciting and demanding championship and I think it brings an interesting new dimension to the sport. This is as much about strategy as it is about driving fast – its playing chess at 220 km/h.”

CEO of Amlin, Charles Phillips remarked:

“Amlin has always been focused on developing winning strategies using a combination of experience, expertise and data analysis - and this skill is equally applicable to insurance and motor racing. We are serious about racing and serious about winning.”

CEO of Formula E, Alejandro Agag announced:

“I’m delighted to welcome Katherine to the FIA Formula E Championship and also Amlin who have shown their commitment to sustainable mobility and to the FIA’s new all-electric race series. It’s fantastic to have our first female driver too and we very much hope she is the first of many to join the championship.”

Formula E gives us the first ever full-electric car racing series. This will greatly demonstrate EVs to a new generation of fans of the racing industry as well as to show the world that EVs are more than capable on the track. The racing events take place in many areas of the world in "city-center circuits". The Formula E race cars are capable of speeds over 150 mph (225 kph). The series' 10 teams will include industry leading names such as Alain Prost, Mario Andretti, and Sir Richard Branson.

Source: FIA Formula E

Got a tip for us? Email: