Formula E racer on the Track

Formula E racer on the Track

Super Aguri becomes the sixth team to join the Formula E Championship racing series that will begin in late 2014.

The Japanese team was founded this year by four partners: Aguri Suzuki (Executive Chairman), Mark Preston (Team Principal), Peter McCool (Technical Director) and Ferry Spijkerman (Commercial Director).

Aguri Suzuki is one of the most famous Japanese F1 drivers who spent eight seasons as an F1 driver between 1988-95 and who was team owner of Super Aguri F1 in 2006-2008.

Aguri Suzuki, Executive Chairman of Super Aguri Formula E said:

“Today is a new chapter for the Super Aguri name and I’m proud that our team will represent Japan in the inaugural Formula E series. Zero emissions racing is a progressive concept for the motorsport industry, and after more than 40 years as both a driver and team owner, I see Formula E as a great stride towards the future.

“Japan has always been at the forefront of cutting-edge innovation and technology and our participation in the series will enable us to promote and develop electric vehicle technology not just in our region, but also on a global scale.”

Team Principal Mark Preston, who worked together with Aguri Suzuki at the Super Aguri F1 team added:

“It’s great to make a return to racing in Formula E. Global trends in connectivity, collaborative consumption and the electrification of drivetrains, support our overall vision to turn mobility into a service, rather than a product, especially in the urban setting, where Formula E races will take place.”

Alejandro Agag, CEO of series promoters Formula E Holdings, stated:

“We’re very pleased to have Super Aguri join the FIA Formula E Championship and to be welcoming yet another high profile name onto the grid. Japan has a long and celebrated motorsport heritage, as well as one of the most prominent and largest car industries in the world, so it’s a real honour to have a Japanese team and we hope this will lead to interest from manufacturers and possibly even a Formula E race there in the future.”

A total 10 teams will participate in Formula E Championship, so there's still four more to go.

Got a tip for us? Email: