Andretti Autosport, led by racing legend Michael Andretti, becomes the first US team to sign on for the FIA Formula E Championship.

The racing series will kick off its inaugural season in 2014 with a 10-race schedule.  The first race will be held sometime in September 2014.

Renault Formula E Racer

Renault Formula E Racer

Andretti Autosport is the third of ten required teams to join the competition.  The only other teams to officially sign on are Drayson Racing (UK) and China Racing (umm...China).

CEO of Andretti Autosport, Michael Andretti, had this to say of joining Formula E:

 "It’s an honor for Andretti Autosport to have been selected as one of the 10 founding Formula E teams for the inaugural season.  I look forward to further exploring the series and helping build the future of open-wheel racing across the world."

We still don't know who will be doing the driving at Formula E events, but we suspect that several retired racing veterans will be among the list.

In the gear up for the start of its inaugural season, a fully revamped Formula E website just went live.

Got a tip for us? Email: