Ahead of its inaugural 2014 season, the Formula E electric racing series has poured out information of all sorts, including which teams are on board, the race schedule and even which cities will play host to the first-ever FIA-sanctioned electric racing series.

Formula E Racer on Track Again

Formula E Racer on Track Again

Now, courtesy of Formula E Holdings, we've learned that eight of the ten locations for the inaugural season have been set in stone and that two of those cities are right here in the US.

Miami and Los Angeles join Rio de Janeiro, Rome, Beijing, London, Buenos Aires and Putrajaya (Malaysia) as the first 8 cities to host a Formula E event in 2014.

Two remaining cities should be added to this list soon.

With 8 out 10 cities signed on, you'd think that Formula E is nearly set to go, but ten racing teams are needed and, unfortunately, only two have committed: FIA Formula E Team Drayson and FIA Formula E Team China Racing.

Two teams would not make for an exciting race, so let's hope others join soon or Formual E's inaugural season might not be in 2014.  Or, if it's still held in 2014 with only 2 teams, then its inaugural season might also be its last.

Got a tip for us? Email: tips@insideevs.com