John McGuinness & Team Mugen Win 2014 SES TT Zero!


Mugen Shinden San

Mugen Shinden San

Yesterday, on the Isle of Man was held the 2014 SES TT Zero race for electric motorcycles, which was organized for the sixth time.

10 drivers were on the starting list, from which about half were able to finish the race. Happily, another year passed without any accidents.

The winner was John McGuinness from Mugen Team, who pushed the third generation of Mugen Shinden motorcycle to the limit.

117.366 mph of average speed across the 37.73-miles course is the new lap record for TT Zero. Up from Michael Rutter’s 109.675 mph on MotoCzysz E1PC in 2013.

The time is over a minute shorter – just 19:17.300 instead 20:38.461.

Second fastest was Bruce Anstey, on Mugen Shinden San, and third… for third place two riders fought a battle – Rob Barber on the Ohio State University Buckeye machine and Robert Wilson from Team Sarolea Racing.

But to know who completed the podium, read the official report:

“John McGuinness won his 21st TT race on Wednesday morning when he took the SES TT Zero race in record-breaking style. Riding the Mugen Shinden, McGuinness was always in the lead and with a stunning new lap record of 117.366mph, he came home 23.3s clear of team-mate Bruce Anstey. Rob Barber, on the Ohio State University Buckeye machine, took third.”

“With dry conditions all round the course, despite dark clouds looming overhead, McGuinness, number one on the road, swept through Glen Helen 4.9s clear of Anstey with Robert Wilson over a minute adrift in third. His advantage over Barber was only slight though at just 7.5s. University teams Paul Owen (Brunel Racing) and George Spence (Kingston University) were early reported retirements.”

“Through Ballaugh McGuinness had almost doubled his lead and went through the Sulby speed trap at 154.3mph with four seconds now the difference between Wilson and Barber in third and fourth although it was the latter who held the final podium position.”

“McGuinness was clearly in control, increasing his lead at every timing point, and by Ramsey Hairpin it was up to 11.8s and unless Anstey was operating a different strategy and planning on a quicker run up and down the Mountain, the win was seemingly his. Barber was still in third now some 2m45s behind.”

Saroléa SP7

Saroléa SP7

“McGuinness added another seven seconds to his lead at the Bungalow and as he swept along Glencrutchery road, he completed the lap at a brilliant 117.366mph (19:17.300), the first official lap under 20 minutes for an electric bike around the mountain course, shattering Michael Rutter’s lap record of 20:38.461 (109.675mph) set in last year’s race by over a minute.”

“When Anstey, who had started 30 seconds later, crossed the line, the official gap was 23.3s with the Kiwi also well inside the old lap record with a speed of 115.048mph.”

“The battle for third went all the way to the end and it was Barber, the 2009 race winner, who prevailed by the tiny margin of 0.370s with Wilson obviously disappointed to have missed out. Mark Miller was the only other finisher in fifth with Russ Mountford (Arc-EV3/ARC EV Engineering) and Timothee Monot also being forced to retire.”

Buckeye Current Gears Up for the 2014 Isle of Man TT Zero

Buckeye Current Gears Up for the 2014 Isle of Man TT Zero

2014 SES TT Zero - List Of Riders

2014 SES TT Zero – List Of Riders

2014 SES TT Zero - Results

2014 SES TT Zero – Results

Categories: Bikes, Racing

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

1 Comment on "John McGuinness & Team Mugen Win 2014 SES TT Zero!"

newest oldest most voted

For reference, so far McGuinness’s average speed of 117.366 mph was faster than 19 out of 54 riders in the Superbike class.

Faster than 42 out of 68 in the Supersport class

Faster than 17 out of 56 in Superstock

Faster than 34 out of 57 in Supersport-2

Faster than 37 our of 38 in the Lightweight 650cc Super-twin class.

So aside from the whole part of just doing one lap, the speeds put it near the top of the 650cc class, in the top third of the Supersport, and better then the bottom third of the Superbike and Superstock classes.

That’s pretty impressive considering that it was only 2012 that electric bikes first broke “The Ton” (average speed over 100mph). And it was 1957 back when Bob McIntyre broke it on a gas bike.

So in 2 years, electric bikes have gone from the 1950’s, to being somewhat competitive in speed (on a single lap average speed) with modern gas bikes! Pretty crazy…