Hawaii Pushing For Law That Requires Minimum of 1 Charging Station in Parking Lots With 100 Spaces Or More
Back on January 30, Hawaii’s Senate Committee on Energy and Environment approved (unanimously) a bill that calls for owners of parking lots with 100 spots or more to install at least one charging station.
That bill (Senate Bill 2651) is now in Committee on Judiciary and Labor. Then, it moves to the Senate.
Details of the bill are describes as follows by Big Island Now:
- Would go into effect on Jan. 1, 2015.
- The measure would establish fines of $1,000 for the first violation, which would increase to $5,000 for the second violation and then double for a third infraction. Any subsequent violations would bring a fine of $20,000.
- Owners of parking lots would be allowed 120 days after any violation to comply without being cited for another violation. Police would be responsible for issuing citations.
It’s believed that the bill will be approved by the Senate, but there may be some alterations seen in its final approved form.
As Big Island Now states:
“The Maui County Office of Economic Development expressed concern about the bill’s original language, which included fines of up to $50,000, and its possible inclusion of parking lots at county beach parks.”
So, some wording might need to be changed before the bill gets signed into law.
Unlike requirements set forth in several other states, the bill in Hawaii does not have a grandfather clause, meaning existing parking lots with over 100 spaces will have only until January 1, 2015 to install at least 1 charging station.
Source: Big Island Now