Electric Vehicle Owners Now Required to Pay $100 Annual Fee in North Carolina
Starting in January, owners of the approximately 1,600 pure electric vehicles registered in North Carolina will be required to pay a $100 annual fee.
This fee, which the state signed into law, is there to offset losses from gas taxes. The fee will be used to pay for road maintenance.
North Carolina lists 146 BEVs due for registration renewals in January, so that group of owners will be the first to have to pay the required $100 annual fee. The fee is above and beyond the typical automobile registration fee in North Carolina.
Plug-in hybrid vehicle owners, as well as EREV owners, are not subject to the fee.
The $100 fee will be imposed on new EV buyers in the state too. Those buyers will have to pay the fee immediately upon registering their EVs.
This EV annual fee in North Carolina is the beginning of a trend that we will slowly see make its way across the nation.